23
Feb
11

God Changes His Mind #3

It’s always amazing to me to see the complaints of the Israelites after they have been delivered by God.  The Bible calls them “rabble” (Numbers 11:4) – their griping is almost unbearable to witness, considering that some of them would rather go back to Egyptian slavery rather than be ruled and protected by the God of creation.

Even God seems to have had enough of their attitude, and He tells Moses:

“How long will these people treat me with contempt? How long will they refuse to believe in me, in spite of all the miraculous signs I have performed among them?  I will strike them down with a plague and destroy them, but I will make you into a nation greater and stronger than they.” Numbers 14:11b-12

And yet, once again, we see God changing His mind after being entreated by a faithful person – Moses, again, in this instance.  After Moses’ appeal that God would spare the people from destruction, we see God telling him these words:

“The LORD replied, “I have forgiven them, as you asked.  Nevertheless, as surely as I live and as surely as the glory of the LORD fills the whole earth,  not one of the men who saw my glory and the miraculous signs I performed in Egypt and in the desert but who disobeyed me and tested me ten times—  not one of them will ever see the land I promised on oath to their forefathers. No one who has treated me with contempt will ever see it.””Numbers 14:20-23

While they will be spared destruction, God still enacts a measure of justice by causing the Israelites to wander in the desert for forty years while all the men who doubted God died.

This is the third time I have noted that God changes His mind over something.  See here and here for the first two.  What does this tell us about the power of prayer?

3 Responses to “God Changes His Mind #3”


  1. July 28, 2013 at 6:25 am

    Simply wish to say your article is as astounding.
    The clearness for your publish is simply excellent and
    that i can assume you’re knowledgeable in this subject. Well with your permission allow me to take hold of your feed to stay up to date with forthcoming post. Thank you one million and please carry on the rewarding work.


Leave a Reply

Join In!

I encourage discussion. Please hit the subscription link below, and/or hit the "Leave a Comment" hyperlink at the top of any article!

Blog Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

Contact Alan


