21
Sep
11

A Hint of Pride

While we speak of Job as a blameless man – and I believe that is what he wa –  he reveals a little of his day-to-day character before he was tormented by Satan and lost everything.  Note these verses where he describes his former ways.

“I thought, ‘I will die in my own house,
   my days as numerous as the grains of sand.
My roots will reach to the water,
   and the dew will lie all night on my branches.
My glory will remain fresh in me,
   the bow ever new in my hand.’

 “Men listened to me expectantly,
   waiting in silence for my counsel.
After I had spoken, they spoke no more;
   my words fell gently on their ears.
They waited for me as for showers
   and drank in my words as the spring rain.
When I smiled at them, they scarcely believed it;
   the light of my face was precious to them.
I chose the way for them and sat as their chief;
   I dwelt as a king among his troops;
   I was like one who comforts mourners.”  — Job 29:18-25

I have to point out that there is a little hint of pride in there.  Job was basking in the attention and the plaudits that he continually received for his character.  And the real key is what he says at the beginning of the passage – “My roots will reach to the water,
and the dew will lie all night on my branches”.  This speaks a bit of pride on Job’s part, for he thought that his efforts would have lasting effects, well past his dying days.  And yet, that is not necessarily true when God is in control.  Moreover, we should not look at our own achievements as great, because they are but “filthy rags” before the Lord (Isaiah 64:6).  Here is a slight chink in Job’s armor – for no man other than Jesus Christ is perfect.

0 Responses to “A Hint of Pride”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Join In!

I encourage discussion. Please hit the subscription link below, and/or hit the "Leave a Comment" hyperlink at the top of any article!

Blog Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

Contact Alan


