10
Nov
11

Are You Lucky…Or Is It Something Else?

20111109-201342.jpgWhen an unusual occurrence happens, it is a common thing to hear someone say, “Wow, that was really lucky”. In our household, those words have recently been frowned upon, especially by my son. He corrects anyone who uses the work “luck”, and substitutes the word “providence”. Today’s verse talks about why this is biblically correct.

“But as for you who forsake the LORD and forget my holy mountain, who spread a table for Fortune and fill bowls of mixed wine for Destiny, I will destine you for the sword, and you will all bend down for the slaughter; for I called but you did not answer, I spoke but you did not listen. You did evil in my sight and chose what displeases me.”Isaiah 65:11-12

This verse reminds us that we should not attribute events to “fortune” or “destiny”, because this is a sure sign of forgetting the Lord. I often think about this topic – how much does God insert his divine Providence into our everyday lives? Do we often miss His Providence, and just see His hand as simply a fortunate coincidence? The longer I look for it, the more I believe that God is present in everything .

0 Responses to “Are You Lucky…Or Is It Something Else?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Join In!

I encourage discussion. Please hit the subscription link below, and/or hit the "Leave a Comment" hyperlink at the top of any article!

Blog Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers

Contact Alan


