27
Nov
11

Using Evil for Good?

20111126-212138.jpgOne of the reasons I started this blog was to document the continually amazing little things I notice almost ever time I open up the Bible. I can read the same book or chapter many times over, yet I see new things in the pages each time I read it. This happened to me again in today’s passage.

‘Therefore the LORD Almighty says this: “Because you have not listened to my words, I will summon all the peoples of the north and my servant Nebuchadnezzar king of Babylon,” declares the LORD, “and I will bring them against this land and its inhabitants and against all the surrounding nations. I will completely destroy them and make them an object of horror and scorn, and an everlasting ruin. I will banish from them the sounds of joy and gladness, the voices of bride and bridegroom, the sound of millstones and the light of the lamp. This whole country will become a desolate wasteland, and these nations will serve the king of Babylon seventy years.’Jeremiah 25:8-11

The words that jumped out at me today were “my servant Nebuchadnezzar”. I have never noticed that God spoke of the people’s oppressive leader as His servant. Yet, the words are clear – God used Nebuchadnezzar’s reign as a useful element to serve His purpose. Seeing the reign of evil men as a service to the Lord is often hard to grasp. My own design would be for good to reign at all times in all places, but God’s plans are infinitely more complex – and infinitely wiser.

0 Responses to “Using Evil for Good?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Join In!

I encourage discussion. Please hit the subscription link below, and/or hit the "Leave a Comment" hyperlink at the top of any article!

Blog Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

Contact Alan


