22
Dec
11

The Perfect Allegory

Ezekiel chapter 16 is meant to be an allegory of God’s relationship with his chosen people – not just under the Old Law, but even for modern times.  In this chapter, we read an analogous description of a woman who is born, yet is seen as immature, who then grows up, is noticed by a man who makes an oath and covenant with her, and is made beautiful.  But she then goes on to become a prostitute – and not even typical in that respect, but a prostitute who pays others for love.  She is sentenced to punishment, but finally remembers what is right and is ashamed of her wrongdoing, and is finally restored to her husband.

The message is clear – God is the husband, and we are the woman.  And the important part of this story, I believe, is the existence of a covenant, which the husband ultimately honors and fulfills.

“Later I passed by, and when I looked at you and saw that you were old enough for love, I spread the corner of my garment over you and covered your nakedness. I gave you my solemn oath and entered into a covenant with you, declares the Sovereign LORD, and you became mine.”Ezekiel 16:8

And then, later, we read:

“Yet I will remember the covenant I made with you in the days of your youth, and I will establish an everlasting covenant with you.  Then you will remember your ways and be ashamed when you receive your sisters, both those who are older than you and those who are younger. I will give them to you as daughters, but not on the basis of my covenant with you.  So I will establish my covenant with you, and you will know that I am the LORD.”Ezekiel 16:60-62

We are so blessed to have a Lord who is willing to enter into a binding covenant with us, and who is willing to honor it, regardless of the depth of our sin.  God gives us this allegory for a specific purpose – to remind us very clearly that restoration is possible, and that He will honor His covenant, just as the faithful husband did in Ezekiel.

0 Responses to “The Perfect Allegory”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Join In!

I encourage discussion. Please hit the subscription link below, and/or hit the "Leave a Comment" hyperlink at the top of any article!

Blog Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

Contact Alan


