10
Jan
12

Some People Never Learn

Two things stand out in today’s passage, regarding the Babylonian king Nebuchadnezzar’s own “god”, and the king’s blindness to the truth before him.

“King Nebuchadnezzar, To the peoples, nations and men of every language, who live in all the world: May you prosper greatly!  It is my pleasure to tell you about the miraculous signs and wonders that the Most High God has performed for me.  How great are his signs, how mighty his wonders!  His kingdom is an eternal kingdom; his dominion endures from generation to generation.  I, Nebuchadnezzar, was at home in my palace, contented and prosperous.  I had a dream that made me afraid. As I was lying in my bed, the images and visions that passed through my mind terrified me.  So I commanded that all the wise men of Babylon be brought before me to interpret the dream for me.  When the magicians, enchanters, astrologers and diviners came, I told them the dream, but they could not interpret it for me.  Finally, Daniel came into my presence and I told him the dream. (He is called Belteshazzar, after the name of my god, and the spirit of the holy gods is in him.)”   — Daniel 4:1-4

First point – Daniel was named after Nebuchadnezzar’s own god!  I never noticed that before!  I wonder how this made Daniel feel?  And why would the king do such a thing?

Secondly, isn’t it strange how the king honors Daniel’s God, and even acknowledged His greatness – yet he hangs onto his own god, anyway?  In fact, it was right after Daniel finished telling Nebuchadnezzar what his dream was, and what it meant, that the king did two things – 1) he honored Daniel’s God, (“The king said to Daniel, “Surely your God is the God of gods and the Lord of kings and a revealer of mysteries, for you were able to reveal this mystery.”Daniel 2:47), yet 2) he had a golden idol made in the form of a different god (“King Nebuchadnezzar made an image of gold, ninety feet high and nine feet wide, and set it up on the plain of Dura in the province of Babylon.”  — Daniel 3:1)

Some people never learn – the true God was right there, right before Nebuchadnezzar, and he even acknowledged His power – but he refused to let go of his own gods, who were powerless.

1 Response to “Some People Never Learn”



Leave a Reply

Join In!

I encourage discussion. Please hit the subscription link below, and/or hit the "Leave a Comment" hyperlink at the top of any article!

Blog Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

Contact Alan


