09
Feb
12

Renewed Relationship

As the Lord has made a negative example of Hosea’s relationship with his wife, in order to parallel Israel’s unfaithfulness, he also displays the awesomeness of His forgiveness and grace.

“In that day,” declares the LORD, “you will call me ‘my husband’; you will no longer call me ‘my master.’  I will remove the names of the Baals from her lips; no longer will their names be invoked.  In that day I will make a covenant for them with the beasts of the field and the birds of the air and the creatures that move along the ground.  Bow and sword and battle I will abolish from the land, so that all may lie down in safety.  I will betroth you to me forever; I will betroth you in righteousness and justice, in love and compassion.  I will betroth you in faithfulness, and you will acknowledge the LORD.”  — Hosea 2:16-20

Though He is literally speaking of Hosea and his wife in these verses, it is meant to be shown that He is speaking about the restoration of His people.  I like some of the points that are made about the renewed relationship.  “You will call me ‘my husband'” implies a deeply personal relationship.  The names of other gods will not even be mentioned.  Bounty and providence will be provided.  And safety will be assured.  What a beginning!

0 Responses to “Renewed Relationship”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Join In!

I encourage discussion. Please hit the subscription link below, and/or hit the "Leave a Comment" hyperlink at the top of any article!

Blog Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

Contact Alan


