27
Feb
12

Wrath on the Forgetful

As with many of the books in the Old Testament, this story begins with God’s wrath upon the earth as a penalty for its sin.  The first chapter of the book of Amos details curses poured out upon the sinful nations which surround the chosen people, but which are separate from them.  But in the second chapter, we see similar threats poured out on the people of Israel, as well.

‘This is what the LORD says: “For three sins of Israel, even for four, I will not turn back my wrath.  They sell the righteous for silver, and the needy for a pair of sandals.  They trample on the heads of the poor as upon the dust of the ground and deny justice to the oppressed.  Father and son use the same girl and so profane my holy name.  They lie down beside every altar on garments taken in pledge.  In the house of their god they drink wine taken as fines.  I destroyed the Amorite before them, though he was tall as the cedars and strong as the oaks.  I destroyed his fruit above and his roots below.  I brought you up out of Egypt, and I led you forty years in the desert to give you the land of the Amorites.  I also raised up prophets from among your sons and Nazirites from among your young men.  Is this not true, people of Israel?” declares the LORD.  “But you made the Nazirites drink wine and commanded the prophets not to prophesy.  Now then, I will crush you as a cart crushes when loaded with grain.  The swift will not escape, the strong will not muster their strength, and the warrior will not save his life.  The archer will not stand his ground, the fleet-footed soldier will not get away, and the horseman will not save his life.  Even the bravest warriors will flee naked on that day,” declares the LORD.’  — Amos 2:6-16

It seems unbelievable to me when I read how the people continue to forget the Lord God after His rescue of them not once, but many times.  Their sins are many, and their forgetfulness is complete.  But then I remember that I do the same thing from time to time.  Even though Christ came to earth and died for ME, I still forget.  I sin.  I fail to be thankful for his sacrifice.  Am I really any different from the people detailed in the book of Amos?

0 Responses to “Wrath on the Forgetful”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Join In!

I encourage discussion. Please hit the subscription link below, and/or hit the "Leave a Comment" hyperlink at the top of any article!

Blog Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers

Contact Alan


