01
Apr
12

Destruction…and Strength

God has answered the two complaints made by Habakkuk, and we now see the prophet turn to prayer.  In his words, we see two views of God’s justice.

“You split the earth with rivers; the mountains saw you and writhed. Torrents of water swept by; the deep roared and lifted its waves on high.”  — Habakkuk 3:9b-10

I cannot help but think of the great flood when I read this verse.  Whenever I am in the mountains, or I see places on earth that show clear evidence of the flood (such as the Grand Canyon), I am made aware of the greatness of God, and what He can do when His power is unleashed.  It must have been an awesome thing to see His fury unleashed upon the world.  Realizing the awesome power that God has is the first observation in Habakkuk’s prayer.

Yet, we also see another side of the Lord in the final verses of this book.

“Yet I will wait patiently for the day of calamity to come on the nation invading us.  Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the LORD, I will be joyful in God my Savior.  The Sovereign LORD is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to go on the heights.”  — Habakkuk 3:16b-19a

Habakkuk demonstrates spiritual maturity in realizing that we can still rejoice, even in the face of inflicted calamity.  He realizes that God’s purpose is greater then our immediate comfort or security.

0 Responses to “Destruction…and Strength”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Join In!

I encourage discussion. Please hit the subscription link below, and/or hit the "Leave a Comment" hyperlink at the top of any article!

Blog Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

Contact Alan


