23
May
12

Grasp of Grace

“Vindicate me, O Lord, for I have led a blameless life; I have trusted in the Lord without wavering.”Psalm 26:1
I have made this point before, but it bears repeating – how is it possible that David could write words of such innocence, when we know of his story involving Bathsheba, and her husband, Uriah?
I can only derive two possibilities – 1) this psalm was written before the incident happened, or 2) David had an amazing grasp of God’s grace and forgiveness. I think it highly unlikely that the first possibility is true – I’ve always considered that David wrote the psalms later in life, after gaining some experience and time with God. So that would leave the second option. And that makes his understanding of what grace means very remarkable. With Bathsheba and Uriah, David committed both adultery and murder. And yet, he can feel blameless, and say he had never wavered in his devotion to the Lord. I find that to be inspiring.
0 Responses to “Grasp of Grace”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Join In!

I encourage discussion. Please hit the subscription link below, and/or hit the "Leave a Comment" hyperlink at the top of any article!

Blog Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers

Contact Alan


