09
Jun
12

Another View From David

“Do not withhold your mercy from me, O Lord; may your love and your truth always protect me. For troubles without number surround me; my sins have overtaken me, and I cannot see. They are more than the hairs of my head, and my heart fails within me.”Psalm 40:11-12

These are interesting words to be hearing from David. I have written many times before about how David seems to approach God with a full covering of grace, claiming that he has remained sinless before the Lord. Those are amazing statements for him to make, given his sin with Bathsheba and her husband. But in these verses, we see that there are times when David’s sin is still remembered – at least by himself.

In some small way, this is comforting to me, because I also tend to remember my own failings and faults. I desire to understand God’s grace more, and to physically and emotionally feel His forgiveness wash over me. Perhaps I can learn, as David did, that God’s ability to forgive is boundless and full.

1 Response to “Another View From David”


  1. September 16, 2012 at 8:24 am

    When a child (in a loving home) is forgiven for a mistake, does that child then continue to feel guilty or, rather, does it smile with thanks & delight and then go out to play?


Leave a Reply

Join In!

I encourage discussion. Please hit the subscription link below, and/or hit the "Leave a Comment" hyperlink at the top of any article!

Blog Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

Contact Alan


