10
Jun
12

Motivation To Share The Gospel With Others

“Blessed is he who has regard for the weak; the Lord delivers him in times of trouble. The Lord will protect him and preserve his life; he will bless him in the land and not surrender him to the desire of his foes. The Lord will sustain him on his sickbed and restore him from his bed of illness.”Psalm 41:1-3

How can we be assured that we will feel God's divine presence when we have troubles in the future? By showing compassion TODAY when we see others around us in distress. These verses assure us that God sees our own empathy for others and grants us His care and blessing in our life because of it. I have to admit – I am not the most sympathetic person to other people's troubles, but these verses motivate me to think about that anew.

The ultimate fear for me is to think of a future eternity with the possibility of being separated from God. I cannot fathom the despair that would accompany such a fate, and it lasts forever, with no chance for a future respite. Am I motivated also to keep others informed of such a possible fate? Negative motivation is not the only way to impress the future on people, but it IS a powerful motivator, and it was in use by the prophets of old. And, coupled with the positive aspects of the verses above, we have a powerful message to share.

 


1 Response to “Motivation To Share The Gospel With Others”


  1. 1 SprinklinThoughts
    September 16, 2012 at 8:36 am

    I am curious… why do you think of “a future eternity with the possibility of being separated from God”? Somehow I cannot bring myself to think that God would be so cruel… and I cannot find anything in the bIble that says this, but I can find passages that allude to a final death (burning the weeds, etc.)… So I am inclined to believe that either I make it (am reborn into His kingdom) or I don’t (am “aborted” as a non-viable fetus of this world)… Or better yet – a more compassionate and loving possibility (one I would like to believe) is that I would be given a proper chance when/as I am put into His kingdom and can see the way things are meant to be. Maybe?


Leave a comment


Join In!

I encourage discussion. Please hit the subscription link below, and/or hit the "Leave a Comment" hyperlink at the top of any article!

Blog Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other subscribers

Contact Alan