25
Jun
12

Friendly Fire

“If an enemy were insulting me, I could endure it; if a foe were raising himself against me, I could hide from him. But it is you, a man like myself, my companion, my close friend, with whom I once enjoyed sweet fellowship as we walked with the throng at the house of God.”Psalm 55:12-14

In the middle of this chapter where David is mourning the evil people that he is surrounded by, I found these verses. While the rest of the chapter is devoted to pointing out the unnamed people who persecute him, these three verses clearly point to someone who used to be close, but who has now joined with others to persecute the young David.

It seems clear that David once enjoyed a friendship with this person, and shared a level of spiritual depth. But now this person has turned and seeks to destroy him – probably allying himself with King Saul against David. We don't know who this person is, but it is clear that their turncoat actions have hurt him deeply. Insults from friendly places are the ones that hurt the worst.


0 Responses to “Friendly Fire”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


Join In!

I encourage discussion. Please hit the subscription link below, and/or hit the "Leave a Comment" hyperlink at the top of any article!

Blog Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other subscribers

Contact Alan