11
Oct
12

Wisdom Without Limit

“But as for me, I will always have hope; I will praise you more and more. My mouth will tell of your righteousness, of your salvation all day long, though I know not its measure. I will come and proclaim your mighty acts, O Sovereign Lord; I will proclaim your righteousness, yours alone. Since my youth, O God, you have taught me, and to this day I declare your marvelous deeds.”Psalm 71:14-17

In a continuing theme found throughout the book of Psalms, we are reminded to praise God continually. But there is one clause in the middle of this passage that is critically important to understand – “though I know not its measure”.

Many people have spent countless hours trying to fathom everything there is to know and understand about God. I recently received as a gift the Matthew Henry commentary on the Bible – to me, it looks like it would have taken a lifetime to assemble all of the words in that book. It is much, much longer than the Bible itself. Yet the author of this Psalm reminds us that God cannot be fully understood by man. His full measure is beyond our mortal grasp.

I find this principle to be evident every time I consider studying the Bible. It is truly like no other book, because every time I go to study a topic in depth, I find lessons and wisdom which I have never noticed before. The Lord has buried what seems to be an infinite amount of wisdom in a book of finite length. That is nothing short of miraculous.

0 Responses to “Wisdom Without Limit”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Join In!

I encourage discussion. Please hit the subscription link below, and/or hit the "Leave a Comment" hyperlink at the top of any article!

Blog Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

Contact Alan


