10
Nov
12

No Vile Thing Before Us

“I will be careful to lead a blameless life—when will you come to me? I will walk in my house with blameless heart. I will set before my eyes no vile thing. The deeds of faithless men I hate; they will not cling to me. Men of perverse heart shall be far from me; I will have nothing to do with evil.”Psalm 101:2-4

Here we see David's heart, and his desire to lead a life without blame. This bears repeating – do we live our lives in such a way that we continually cash in on God's grace, or do we strive to live without sin? I have witnessed many Christians in today's culture who practice the former – without much regard for the latter.

Yet, I believe it is a Christian's duty to constantly strive for blamelessness – but not because it will earn us a reward. Jesus Christ is the one who paid the debt to gain that for us. Rather, we should strive to live blameless lives because it brings glory to God, and shows how His power can change lives.

David commits to a couple of things to help achieve this. First, he vows to put nothing evil before his eyes. Every time I read this verse, I can only think of the millions of television sets that are switched on each night in homes throughout the world. And the programs on television today are like a window in our home that looks out across evil and sin. Fathers invite their wives and children to gather around that window for hours, while they laugh and are entertained by immorality and the mockery of God. This should not be.

Second, David commits to hating evil deeds and to keeping them far from him. It is the hatred of evil that I want to focus on. Too often, we are made to feel that hatred is always a wrong emotion – that we should approach the subject of evil and wrongdoing more lightly. But the words of David tell us otherwise. Are we committed to feeling so strongly about the evil around us? Will we pick up the sword to battle against the evil in our land? Or will we retreat within ourselves and let the enemy wage the battle uncontested?

1 Response to “No Vile Thing Before Us”


  1. October 7, 2014 at 5:18 pm

    Ӏ enjoy whɑt you guys tend to be up too. This typе of clever work and exposure!
    Keep uρ the good works guy I’ve added yߋou guys to blogroll.


Leave a Reply

Join In!

I encourage discussion. Please hit the subscription link below, and/or hit the "Leave a Comment" hyperlink at the top of any article!

Blog Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

Contact Alan


