05
Dec
12

Satisfaction in the Law

“Teach me, O Lord, to follow your decrees; then I will keep them to the end. Give me understanding, and I will keep your law and obey it with all my heart. Direct me in the path of your commands, for there I find delight. Turn my heart toward your statutes and not toward selfish gain. Turn my eyes away from worthless things; preserve my life according to your word.”Psalm 119:33-37

This lengthy chapter in the Psalms is all about knowing God's word, and following it. In addition, we see that the word is intended to give us delight when we follow it! What a departure from the false wisdom of this world, which tries to tell us that laws and restrictions are a curse. But God means for us to live full lives, with joy and peace, precisely because we follow His laws. This is very much against the grain of our culture.

The last two verses seem appropriate for today's world. While men look for fulfillment by seeking fame, money, and their own selfish purposes, the psalmist tells us that joy is found in following God's statutes. How odd for us to hear such a thing in this age of selfish pursuit! Could it really be that we could find MORE joy in following the laws of God than in pursuing our own cultural tendencies? Is there more satisfaction to be had in a lifelong relationship with one spouse than in dallying with multiple partners? Could I really be happier by pursuing an honest and modest career, instead of a glamorous, high-paying job where I would occasionally have to compromise my beliefs? The answer is an emphatic “Yes”.

0 Responses to “Satisfaction in the Law”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Join In!

I encourage discussion. Please hit the subscription link below, and/or hit the "Leave a Comment" hyperlink at the top of any article!

Blog Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers

Contact Alan


