07
Dec
12

Standing Up For God’s Word

“I will speak of your statutes before kings and will not be put to shame, for I delight in your commands because I love them. I lift up my hands to your commands, which I love, and I meditate on your decrees.”Psalm 119:46-48

Are we ever embarrassed to speak the words of the Bible in front of others? Do we fail to tell others who use the Lord's name in vain that we are hurt by such practice? Are we bold enough to stand up every single time that we see wrong being done, and tell people that it is because of God's principles that we want to see the injustice stopped?

The psalmist tells of delight in the words and the commands of the Lord – because he has seen the good that comes from obeying God's laws, but even more importantly, because obedience to these laws is what God wants. I think this last point is very important – we should obey, not because it brings us happiness or joy, but because God said to do it. Like doing a chore to make our earthly father happy (and in knowing this, it brings us happiness, too), we need to be sure that our motivation is for the right reason.

I must confess – I don't always stand up and correct others when I see them doing things that profane God. This is a hard thing to do, but one which comes with increasing spiritual maturity. By experiencing a genuine love for God's decrees, this should become much easier.

0 Responses to “Standing Up For God’s Word”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Join In!

I encourage discussion. Please hit the subscription link below, and/or hit the "Leave a Comment" hyperlink at the top of any article!

Blog Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

Contact Alan


