08
Dec
12

Thanking God At All Times

“At midnight I rise to give you thanks for your righteous laws.”Psalm 119:62

Here is a simple verse, but it delivers a profound message. Have we ever awoke at midnight, on purpose, to pray to God for his laws? Apparently, the psalmist did.

Our lives may include many deliberate acts of praise or attention to God – going to church, praying before meals, and listening to Christian songs in the car, instead of secular ones. Many people do these things out of obligation, because it is the right thing to do. I know that for me, the act of fasting falls into this category. It is not something that I choose to do because I love it – I do it because I want to use the time to try to draw closer to God.

Am I so in love with God's laws that I would rise in the middle of the night to praise him for them? This seems radical to me, and probably points to a deficiency that I need to address. How well do I really understand God's intent and purpose and genuine love for me? If I could see him as the personal God that he really is, a God who knows my every second of life, and who cares deeply for me, then this verse begins to make more sense.

0 Responses to “Thanking God At All Times”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Join In!

I encourage discussion. Please hit the subscription link below, and/or hit the "Leave a Comment" hyperlink at the top of any article!

Blog Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

Contact Alan


