22
Dec
12

No Record Of Sins

“If you, O Lord, kept a record of sins, O Lord, who could stand? But with you there is forgiveness; therefore you are feared.”Psalm 130:3-4

I remember once when my parents left me and my two sisters at our grandparents for a week. One of my sisters and I decided to team up to keep a tally (on paper!) of all the things that our other sister did wrong during the week. We counted things like lying, cheating, or being generally mean-spirited (I'm happy to say that I was very young at this time!).

When our parents returned, my sister and I gave the list to my parents, thinking that we were doing them a favor. Their first reaction was, of course, to tear it up without even looking at it. And I think that my sister and I were scolded for doing something so selfish – as if we had lived the week out without fault of our own!

God is like this. He does not keep a record of sins, fortunately for us. He is truly able to forgive and look past the wrongs we have committed. I am thankful that His character is such – and not like I was in my youth. There is a message in that moment when our list of faults is shredded, without reading, and forever forgotten.

0 Responses to “No Record Of Sins”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Join In!

I encourage discussion. Please hit the subscription link below, and/or hit the "Leave a Comment" hyperlink at the top of any article!

Blog Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

Contact Alan


