24
Dec
12

A Still and Quiet Soul

“My heart is not proud, O Lord, my eyes are not haughty; I do not concern myself with great matters or things too wonderful for me. But I have stilled and quieted my soul; like a weaned child with its mother, like a weaned child is my soul within me.”Psalm 131:1-2

Quite often, I get the urge to do something much greater with my life. I have dreams of being a touring speaker, giving lectures about apologetics, homeschooling, or some other personal passion. I'd like to be a recognized author, too, writing about topics of a spiritual nature. I'd like to have a place in history like George Washington, Jonathan Edwards, or Billy Graham, and do great things with my life. But each time that I have dabbled in an attempt to make one of these dreams happen, things don't take off. And here I am, a husband and father to a wonderful wife and obedient children, in a secular job which pays me very well, with almost no debt or financial worry, and relatively secure and happy with what my work entails.

That sounds like a blessing from God, doesn't it? And these verses today back up the notion that we should just be at peace with what God has given us. I am very much at peace right now in my life, and I feel God's blessings every single day. I live a life which would be the envy of most men. Most importantly, my soul is quieted within me, as the verse says, and I wait for God to do the work in my life that he sees fit to do. This has made me think hard about whether I should be constantly striving to achieve greater things, or whether I should be at peace with what I have and simply let God direct my life.

0 Responses to “A Still and Quiet Soul”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Join In!

I encourage discussion. Please hit the subscription link below, and/or hit the "Leave a Comment" hyperlink at the top of any article!

Blog Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 32 other followers

Contact Alan


