25
Dec
12

The Church – God’s Dwelling Place

“For the Lord has chosen Zion, he has desired it for his dwelling: “This is my resting place for ever and ever; here I will sit enthroned, for I have desired it—I will bless her with abundant provisions; her poor will I satisfy with food. I will clothe her priests with salvation, and her saints will ever sing for joy.”Psalm 132:13-16

A big question that has been on my mind lately is whether or not the nation of Israel still has a special role and special protection from God. To some extent, I believe that it does, and that God has a special role designed for Israel during the end times fulfillment. I wondered if these verses, which speak of honor for Zion, applied solely to the nation of Israel.

Some research has led me to conclude that these words are in reference to the church. After Christ's death and resurrection, the gospel was handed to both Jew and Gentile, and the New Testament church was formed. Paul's writings tell us that the church is the bride of Christ, and there is no more intimate relationship than that. These blessings – the place of God's dwelling forevermore, abundance, salvation, and joy – are meant for God's people, which is now fulfilled in His church.

 

0 Responses to “The Church – God’s Dwelling Place”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Join In!

I encourage discussion. Please hit the subscription link below, and/or hit the "Leave a Comment" hyperlink at the top of any article!

Blog Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers

Contact Alan


